2019 Awards

The Awards were presented by Alec Coles OBE (Chair, ICOM Australia) at the 2019 Australian Museums and Galleries Association (AMaGA) National Conference at Earth Sanctuary, Alice Springs / Mparntwe on 16 May 2019.


Individual award

Jim Gehling AO

Presented to one of a small number of experts in the world on the Ediacaran Period (the time in the Earth’s history between 540 and 580 million years ago).

Professor Jim Gehling AO has been at the forefront of research on this period, is Honorary Research Associate Palaeontology Affiliate Professor, Sprigg Geobiology Centre, University of Adelaide. His major contribution to the world’s understanding of the earliest known form of complex life on earth extends from South Australia to working on fossil-bearing strata of the same age in Canada, the USA, the UK, China and Namibia. He is one of the many scientists that make an incredibly important contribution to our sector that is often rarely seen by the public.

Institution award

Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art

The 2019 ICOM Institution Award goes to the Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art for its flagship exhibition series, the Asia Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art (APT).

Over its 27 year life, and requiring the support of its entire staff, the Asia Pacific Triennial has enabled the Queensland Art Gallery and Gallery of Modern Art to develop relations with national culture ministries and arts boards, museum professionals and institutions, and importantly thousands of artists.

1. Brian Oldman (Director, South Australian Museum) accepting Individual Award on behalf of Jim Gehling
2. Simon Elliott (Deputy Director, Collection and Exhibitions, QAGOMA) accepting institutional award on behalf of Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art