2016 award

The awards were presented by Dr Robin Hirst (Chair, ICOM Australia) at the 2016 Museums Australasia Conference dinner at Auckland on 17 May 2016.

Briefing brochure (326kB)

Individual award

Dr Des Griffin AM

Presented to Dr Des Griffin AM who as a museum professional has spent his life advocating for cultural diversity within the museum sector, especially in Australia and New Zealand.

 Des Griffin testimonial (34kb)

Institutional award

National Museum of Australia

Presented to the National Museum of Australia for its collaboration with the British Museum which saw it realise two landmark  exhibitions: Enduring Civilisations at the British Museum, and Encounters: revealing stories of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander objects from the British Museum at the National Museum in Canberra.

National Museum testimonial (169kb)

Presentation at Auckland, New Zealand. (Left to right) Des Griffin, Ian Coates (Head, Collections, National Museum of Australia), Barbara Paulson (Curator, National Museum of Australia), Mat Trinca (Director, National Museum of Australia), Robin Hirst (Chair, ICOM Australia).