2010 awards for international relations

Two awards were presented by Frank Howarth (ICOM Australia Chair) on 29 May 2010 in Melbourne.

 2010 award briefing (256kB)

Individual award

Daniel Thomas AM
Emeritus Director, Art Gallery of South Australia

For ongoing and outstanding lifetime achievement over five decades in both the Australian art world and in Australian art museums with contributions to the collection, interpretation, exhibition and public knowledge of Australian art.

Daniel Thomas AM testimony (54kB)

Institutional award

Cultural Heritage Centre for Asia and the Pacific, Deakin University

For its Lampang Temples Project focused on the implementation of an integrated approach to collections management in Lampang province in northern Thailand, noting the outstanding contributions of Dr Joanna Wills, Jonathan Sweet and Susanna Collis.

Deakin University worked with Chiang Mai University with the support of UNESCO Bangkok under UNESCO's Programme for the Preservation of Endangered Movable Cultural Properties and Museum Development.

Deakin University testimony (347kB)



1. Daniel Thomas AM holding his award 

2. Deakin University award winners Suzanna Collis, Joanna Wills and Jonathan Sweet
   with Frank Howarth (ICOM Australia Chair)