ICOM Australia Awards

ICOM Australia Awards recognise and celebrate outstanding work undertaken by Australian individuals and institutions that has strengthened international relations and contributed to the cultural richness of museums and galleries.

Australian museums and galleries enrich the cultural, social and intellectual lives of all Australians and contribute to well-informed, tolerant and cohesive communities.ICOM Australia Award glass globe prize created by Benjamin Edols The exchange of ideas and expertise internationally is an important part of expanding these opportunities.

Award winners are presented with a glass globe sculpture and certificate. The sculptures were commissioned by ICOM Australia from Sydney based master glassmaker Benjamin Edols, and were created at the Canberra Glassworks.


The Awards prior to 2015 were known as the ICOM Australia Award for International Relations.

Two Awards are offered annually:

  • Individual Award - for an outstanding individual achievement recognising significant international engagement and inspirational contribution to Australia’s cultural life
  • Institution Award - for an innovative project or an ongoing initiative during the previous year that strengthens museum relations internationally, promotes information sharing across borders and distributes resources beyond Australia.

ICOM Australia Awards

2017 awards

Nominations are now open for the 2017 ICOM Australia Awards. For the first time we're please to announce that the Awards are open to both ICOM and non-ICOM members.

Please download and read carefully the briefing and nomination documentation.

Nominations closure: extended to 5.00pm AEDT Friday 24 March 2017.

Briefing brochure (326kB)  
Nomination form (322kB) Nomination form (133kB)




Previous awards

For details of previous award winners please select a tile below.



There was no award in 2008.

ICOM Australia Awards Copyright Roger Garland